Nordictrack E7.1 Elliptical Trainer - Glad I Bought This One!

by April
(Eau Claire, WI )

I admit I was reluctant about the Nordictrack E7.1 elliptical trainer because the reviews weren't great but I didn't want to spend what the really highly rated ones cost. I thought I would want a Sole based on the reviews but when I actually tried one at the store it wasn't comfortable for me.

I'm really glad I went with this one - 4 months later I've lost 15 lbs and I actually look forward to using it. I find it very comfortable and the built in workouts are great. The only thing I don't like about the Nordictrack E7.1 are the orange bumps on the foot pads. I'd prefer to use it barefoot but that would be too uncomfortable. Shoes with hard bottoms are necessary. Also, some of the orange bumps on the right foot pad started making a little noise, so I have to position my foot right to avoid it. It's not a big deal though. Hopefully it holds up for a long time.

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack ASR 630 - Wants Refund

by Bobby
(San Antonio, Texas)

The NordicTrack ASR 630 is a HORRIBLE MACHINE! The wave washers in the upper handle support have broken 8 TIMES IN 11 MONTHS. Icon has sent replacement washers and I have installed them, correctly with double checks each time, and to no avail. The last set they sent were supposedly REDISIGNED but the first one broke within a month. My wife uses the machine 5-6 days a week for 30-45 minutes. She is 5'4" and weighs 125 - 130.

I contacted NordicTrack via email today and will be very interested in hearing what they have to say. Thought I doubt it will happen I am going to do all that I can to get them to take back the NordicTrack ASR 630 and refund my money. If that does not work then I am going to try to get credit towards another, better, machine.

So far I have spend 8 hours replacing these washers and I really do not want to do it again. Just a big old pain in the butt.

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack ASR 630 - Problems with Upper Arms, Console

by Jamie
(Texas, USA)

I bought a NordicTrack ASR 630 elliptical in January 2008. It took a long time to assemble. After about 6 months of use it started making a lot of noise and I noticed that the upper arms were sliding loosely on the upper axle. I took it apart and noticed that the wavy washers that fit on the axle between the arm were broken. I ordered replacements. The washers are 58 cents a piece, the shipping was $14.00. So I ended up paying over $20 for replacement washers and some extra screws. I looked in local hardware stores and you cannot find the same washers. A few months later they broke again.

After almost a year the console went haywire and started beeping and none of the settings could be changed. I called customer support as the NordicTrack ASR 630 was still under warranty so they sent me another console for only $15 shipping. The console I got looked like it was used and the fan didn't work, but I was just happy I could change the resistance on my elliptical. 6 months later it went out.

NordicTrack will be happy to send me another one for $275. That is almost half of the cost of the elliptical to begin with. When I complained they offered to give me 20% off. That should cover shipping. I don't want to pay that much for something that will go out in 6 months. I am shopping for a different brand of elliptical. Also the pulse sensor does not work on my NordicTrack ASR 630 elliptical.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack ASR 700 Elliptical - Bought from Sears

by Tom Catter
(PEI, Canada)

What absolute garbage. I bought the NordicTrack ASR 700 Elliptical from Sears. My other exercise equipment, a stationary bike and a treadmill, are still hanging on after more than ten years, so I thought I would have the equal good luck. It is not Sears however, it is NordicTrack. Anyway, when it was delivered, the console didn't work, it lit up in the background, but no data, all I had was a blue screen. It is Sears Canada I have to phone, try phoning Toronto and talking to a bunch of foreigners in a call center. After a lot of talking, and a wait of two weeks, my new console arrived, was put in and it worked.

Three weeks later, the plastic wheel went on me on the right pedal. Bad enough that the arm just dropped to the floor loosely. Called in again. Another run around from the Call Center. By and by the repair guy and I just started to call each other. He eventually fixed it, three months later, most of the time we were waiting for that stupid wheel to come in. After that repair I did not use it for three months or so.

I finally started to again this week. After four sessions of 15-20 minutes only, the other wheel, the one on the left pedal, is shot. Another call to the Toronto House of Chaos. She actually started to hang up on me when I asked her increduously, "You mean I have to haul this 300 lb thing out of my basement and load it into my truck, (how did you know I even had one) and bring it to the shop"? whatever that means. I live in a small province, where is "this shop"? Last time the repair guy came to my house and fixed it, what is so different this time? She hung up when she couldn't explain it. I called the repair guy directly again. He says his "rep" for the region, told him he wasn't supposed to do what he did last time to fix it, I am to bring it in. I told him, tell that Rep to call me, I'll talk to him. And if I have to bring that machine in, Mister, it is staying right &%$#$% there! You've ripped me off for sure, paid $1000 for that thing.

Feel bad for the Sears guys, the Manager there is a good guy. But he'd do well to can Nordic Track I figure. Let the gyms who can afford to fix them deal with them. I have had it with these clowns. People, do not be fooled by the price tag, i.e. thinking "you won't have to get it repaired, good quality etc." Right. It is back to the 200-500 dollar jobs for me.

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack ASR 700 Elliptical User Comments

by Julie Robinson
(Ellerslie, Georgia)

So far, in the space of two years the console has blown twice. The NordicTrack ASR 700 elliptical has not been a good purchase at all. I would not encourage anyone to purchase one!

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack ASR 1000 Elliptical Not Worth The Money

by John Moulton
(Dallas,TX)

I bought NordicTrack ASR 1000 elliptical machine in April/May 2008. The first week I used the machine something went wrong with the crank arm. I called ICON Customer Service and they sent me the replacement parts.

I had been using the NordicTrack machine since then and now the plastic roller broke. To fix the machine it will cost me $100.36. I am not spending this amount and have the other roller break down. The machine is creating a lot of noise.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Nordictrack ASR 1000 - Problems After Just 45 Minutes

by Bob
(La Center, WA, USA)

I bought the Nordictrack ASR 1000 elliptical online with free shipping, spent about 2 hours assembling unit. Used about 45 minutes total and the drive belt came off and small lower pulley was broken. Called customer service, they said they would send a part to my house in about 6-7 days, then someone would call me to come and repair it. Decided to just send it back for a full refund after reading other complaints about this elliptical. Got more exercise unpacking, assembling, disassembling and repacking than using the machine. Decided to buy a Sole elliptical trainer.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack ASR 1000 Elliptical - DIY Repair

by Erica
(Flagstaff, AZ)

I purchased my Nordictrack ASR 1000 elliptical in August of 2008 from my local Sears store. I had fallen in love with the ellipticals in the gym but my new schedule didn't allow the time to make it there often enough to be worth the membership fees. I had to find a buddy to help me haul it home (Sears wouldn't waive the delivery fee even though my house was 5 blocks from the store), and it took me several hours to assemble it (they wanted more money for that too), but it was sooooo worth it!

I happily used my machine the past couple of years, until a week ago when it started making this funny rattling motion when I was really going fast on it. Of course a part breaks several months after the warranty expired. It took me a few to locate the problem, a cracked ramp wheel, part #286547. These lil rubber beauties are $60 a piece, and that doesn't include shipping!!

Good thing my man is a genius! He says "take a wheel from one of those skateboards in storage". Long story short - it worked. Don't waste your money on a silicone wheel from the manufacturer, skateboard wheels are rubber or silicone or plastic, come in a variety of diameters and widths, have heavy duty capacity and bearings, and have the same 8mm axle opening that ellipticals run on. I ended up buying a package of wheels (4 for $30) and bearings (8 for $10) and just putting brand new wheels on both sides. Plus I have spares for when they wear out again in 2 more years!

Don't get me wrong, I'm not knocking NordicTrack, they are a great company. I just hate to see people get ripped off just for trying to stay healthy.

Cheers and good health, my friends!

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

I Love My NordicTrack 1300 Elliptical

by Karen
(Wisconsin, USA)

I purchased my NordicTrack 1300 elliptical a couple of months ago and I love it. The only issue is that I can't find the info for strides equaling distance. Otherwise the NordicTrack elliptical works out perfectly. I live in Wisconsin and I don't have to go out in the cold after a sweaty workout!

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack 1300 Commercial Elliptical - Lasted 1 Year

by Ross
(Glenview, IL)

Our NordicTrack 1300 Commercial elliptical lasted 1 year and 1 week. Started making noise soon after we started using the machine. Recently the machine became harder to use without adjusting the tension/resistance. Began to notice black dust below the unit. I'm really handy with things around the house, so I took it apart and noticed the "Eddy Mechanism" was not aligned properly and seemed to be missing bearings on the axle. Fine, I'll order a new "Eddy Mechanism" and replace it. Well, the NordicTrack 1300 Commercial originally cost us about $800-$900 at Costco. I-Con wants to charge me $856.48 to replace this piece, plus shipping and handling????? What a joke, the faulty product replacement will cost more than the original cost of the unit. I'm going to see what I can get for the scrap metal and put the $ towards a well manufactured unit.

Nordictrack Elliptical Reviews

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack Commercial 1300 Elliptical - It Lasted 2 Hours!

by Terry Dovey
(Brookings, OR)

We bought the NordicTrack Commerical 1300 elliptical. It lasted 2 hours. Called NordicTrack, they sent out the parts, we called the technician, who has now told us that they sent out the wrong parts. Called NordicTrack, who couldn't care less, ordered more parts and now have to wait another two weeks to use the machine... if we get the right parts. I will never buy another NordicTrack prodcut. This is a terrible company.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack Elite 1300 Elliptical - Major Design Flaw

by Conrad
(Seattle, WA)

See the light shining through the crack.

See the light shining through the crack.

The NordicTrack Elite 1300 elliptical has a major design flaw. The weld line between the frame and the cross bar that attaches to the arms will crack, and NordicTrack customer service says there is no way to replace the frame. In addition the warranty is only one year on this unit (others are lifetime) because they know about the problem and don't want to replace the frames. Now I'm stuck with a super expensive towel rack.

NordicTrack Elite 1300 Review

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Not Happy with the NordicTrack Commercial 1300 Elliptical

by Anna
(Florida)

Set up of the NordicTrack Commercial 1300 elliptical was a mess. Some screws would not fit properly which made for a not so easy assembly. The frame was a little squeaky when in use and after a few months the screws would come loose while in use; used lock tight on them.

I had a problem with the Eddy Current Mechanism as well. It would make a ticking sound. I had it fixed once and within 3 more months it had worn out. Of course by then the 1 year warranty was already done with.. I paid $800.00 for this machine and to replace the Eddy Current Mechanism they wanted $1019.00. I can buy a brand new machine for that price. What are they thinking? Needless to say I will not buy anything from NordicTrack ever again - I am very unhappy with them...

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack FreeMotion S5.6 Elliptical - Noisy, Wobbly, Not Sturdy

by Jovana
(Seattle, WA)

I purchased the NordicTrack FreeMotion S5.6 Elliptical from Nordictrack.com. There are couple of things that are indisputable about this machine: a) noisy, b)wobbly/unsturdy. The video clip on their website with athletes commenting about this machine must have been sound edited. However, bring this thing into your house and you can hear it over your iPod. The FreeMotion S5.6 sells for the same price as other upper range home ellipticals (about $1,700), however many cheaper ones are smoother and quieter. I should have known that with such a high center of gravity there will be no sturdiness. The picture where the woman goes the full stride also makes no sense because any time I went the full stride there is a bang as the rollers hit the end of the rail. I returned the NordicTrack FreeMotion S5.6 and bought an Octane 37e - what a difference!

I wrote this same review on NordicTrack.com a week ago. As of now they have not posted it yet. I am starting to think that they review opinions and only post favorable ones.

Editor's note: The FreeStrider 35s and the FreeMotion S5.6 are the
same machine! We emailed ICON Fitness about this and here is what they had to say: "As requested on your email, the FreeStrider 35s and the FreeMotion S5.6 are the same unit. I can't tell you why Icon USA uses both names for the same machine. It could be a marketing reason. I need to advise you this unit is not available in Canada."

Janick
Icon Canada Inc.
Service à la Clientèle/
Customer Service

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Nordictrack CX 1000 Elliptical User Review - Very Pleased with Purchase

by Jody White
(Columbia, Mississippi, USA)

I love the Nordictrack CX 1000 elliptical. Once I finally received it. At first it was sent by UPS, they lost the shipment(very disappointed in UPS: they never contacted me, I found this out by tracking my shipment). I waited about 2 weeks, contacted Nordictrack, they shipped me another one, I received it in about 6 days in perfect condition by Old Dominion Freight Company. Just got it, 3 days ago.

Hardest thing was to put it together: took my 14 year old son and me about 4 hours. We followed the directions, and it was hard at some points; seems like the screws were wrong. Had to replace a couple of screws on the dust covers with shorter screws. (There should have been better directions or parts could have been numbered instead of just saying left or right). It went together very well as long as you did not tighten the screws up until you were finished assembling that part.

The Nordictrack CX 1000 works great, very quite, and comfortable. It does not hurt any of my joints. I bought this elliptical machine to lose weight and get my cardio back in good shape. I am 49 years, and 60 lbs. overweight due to a historectomy, and the lack of exercise due to going back to college and lack of time.

This Nordictrack elliptical is just super. It is easy to move to a different location, without any exertion. It's quiet. It has easy moveable magnetic foot peddles (they attach to the handles by a magnet when they are not in use, or if you are in the space saver mode). It has a fan that can pivot up or down(very nice). When you step on the foot peddle; this is how the machine turn on or off. It has 10 different programs, and you can set it to work with different resistance while you are walking/running.

The only thing I did not like about this elliptical is that the controls run on 4-D batteries, which did not come with it. But it also has a place to hook up a power cord, which was not explained, just happened to find the port on back of the computer board, no information on how to purchase this power cord.

I have been using the Nordictrack CX 1000 twice a day, working myself toward the 30 minute goal, then I plan to increase my resistance as I go. It does not hurt my legs or knees like I thought it would. It has 3 different strides( I am using the 18 inch stride: it is comfortable to me, I am 5'8"), but also plan to use the 12 in & 15 in stride to target other muscle groups.

I got a great price on this elliptical from Nordictrack, Christmas sale $499.00 plus free shipping ($110.00 value) if I paid for it all at once, which I did.

So far, Nordictrack customer service has been great to deal with, but they did not answer my first two emails, had to call them on the phone, to report the loss of my order. UPS should have contacted them, but they didn't!

Just after 3 days, I can already feel a difference in my body.

The machine is sturdy and weights 167 lbs., and will hold the weight of a 250 lb. person. My husband is even giving it a try. Overall, I am very pleased with the purchase and the performance of the Nordictrack CX 1000 elliptical. I wish I had bought one years ago.

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack CX 1055 Elliptical and Extended Warranty

by Vossy5
(Illinois, USA)

We have had the NordicTrack CX 1055 elliptical for a number of years and there continues to be problems with the ramp wheels breaking. We took out the extended warranty and because there was a problem with the ramp wheel and we had to have service when we went to renew the warranty the price had increased dramatically because we had a service call! It was not a problem we caused but continues to be a defective part on this machine. Stay clear of Nordictrack if this is the kind of service you get from them.

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Nordictrack CX 1600 Elliptical - Assembly Problems

by Bob
(Detroit, Michigan)

The treads on the frame of my Nordictrack CX 1600 elliptical were improperly tapped such that the base would not bolt to the main frame. The customer service person was polite but she did not seem to understand basic mechanical concepts and repeatedly offered to send replacement bolts with a 7 to 10 day lead time.

Finally, it was agreed that a technician would come out to look at the Nordictrack elliptical in something more than 7 to 10 days. Meanwhile, I have my money and space tied up in the Nordictrack CX 1600 with a fundamental manufacturing flaw from the factory in China that could have easily been eliminated with a simple gauge or quality check.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Nordictrack A.C.T. User Review

by Dave
(Port Charlotte, FL, USA)

The NordicTrack A.C.T. is my first elliptical trainer so I can't make comparisons to other machines, I can only tell you about my experience.

Purchased on Sept. 7, 2009 directly from NordicTrack.

Shipping confirmation on Sept. 9th.

Received on Sept. 14th.

I started assembly right after delivery and what should've taken maybe 3 hours ended up taking a lot longer. The holes for attaching the console to the machine were supposed to be drilled and tapped for the screws that were supplied, but the screws didn't fit. I re-tapped the holes after buying the proper tap and drill set. I didn't have any difficulty assembling the machine by myself, but 2 people would make it easier.

After finishing the assembly, I plugged it in and the console acted very strangely, turning off and restarting every time the pedals started to rotate, or if I pushed any of the buttons including the fan. I called Icon Fitness, the maker of the NordicTrack A.C.T., the next day. They said it was probably a defective console and, not having any in stock, they would have to build one and send it out to me. That was on Sept. 15th and on OCT. 2 I received the new console. It was in an anti-static bag, inside a cardboard box which was inside a larger cardboard box...with NO PADDING.

Needless to say, it arrived broken. After closer inspection, I realized that it wasn't broken from the poor packing but from poor assembly. A wire was not routed where it was supposed to go and held the parts away from each other and when the person building it tried to force the screws tight, they broke the plastic nipples they were screwing into off. No quality control whatsoever.

I called again and explained that problem to them on Oct. 2nd, they were very nice on the phone and promised that the next one would be well packed. It arrived on Oct. 10th, well packed. I installed it, and it worked fine.

The NordicTrack A.C.T. itself is not very sturdy and after using it regularly for a few months, it has developed an inconsistent knocking sound that can be felt through the left pedal and arm. The arms are not for pushing or pulling, as they are becoming loose even after tightening the screws again. I weigh approximately 210 lbs and I wouldn't suggest anyone heavier try to use the A.C.T. Having never used a different elliptical, I don't know how common these problems are, but for the price, I wouldn't recommend this NordicTrack machine. I paid $899.99.

I use the machine an hour or more 4 or more times a week and the workout is good. I just think that the NordicTrack A.C.T. is built to sell, not to last.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Nordictrack A.C.T Pro Elliptical with iFit® Live - Needs Work

by Unhappy Guy
(Northern Arizona)

These are a few of my observations with regards to my NordicTrack A.C.T Pro Elliptical:

1. First of all my order did not come as I requested.
2. Next the machine clunks at some settings.
3. The iFit® Live support is really not up to speed. They still think that you can average a higher speed than the max speed. WHAT THE ...????
4. Now just one year old, it is broken and I’m waiting on service.

Last but not least, I wrote an initial review on their site when I bought the machine and it was never posted. It appears that if it’s not 100% good, they hide the review.




Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack Elite Commercial Elliptical - No Power Incline As Advertised

The NordicTrack Elite Commercial Elliptical does not have the power incline like it was advertised on their website. They just changed their website today to my disadvantage since I ordered it two weeks ago.

Instead of telling me they were out, they sent the Freemotion E7.5 and was told it was the same machine. It is not. It does not have the power incline ramp though identical in most everything else. I feel like I was lied to and they tried to play dumb. When I tried to reach a manager yesterday, I was told to leave a message and that they would call me back.

No one called me back so when I did get through today, the manager asked where on the website do I see "power incline" for the Nordictrack Elite Commercial. They just updated the website today and took the false advertising off. Really bad customer service skills. I don't know why he tried to play me for a fool. They did offer a discount but why would I spend that kind of money for something I have to settle for? Something is really screwy since they weren't able to even find the Nordictrack Elite Commercial with their own tracking number.

I think they plan on substituting the NordicTrack Elite Commercial with the Freemotion elliptical, which is good to know if you were planning on buying the Freemotion in the first place. Waste of my time!

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack Freestrider 35S User Comments

by Lemar
(Benton City, WA USA)

Great elliptical. The NordicTrack Freestrider 35S elliptical does everything it is advertised to do and provides a terrific workout. However, due to some shabby quality control in China, it took three months to get it fully functional.

My wife and I assembled it in about four hours, taking our time and following the straightforward instructions carefully. We could have done it in a couple of hours, but my wife is very deliberate.

Right out of the box we noticed that the foot pads were different in design and material. Anyone could have seen this, so I wonder what they were doing at the Chinese factory when inspecting the elliptical. New foot pads arrived in less than a week after we called the home office in Logan, Utah. I changed them out myself.

Once up and running, the display screen would not work. It just read Start Striding but, other than pulse and resistance, none of the readouts worked. We called for assistance, and the local folks who service the NordicTrack were timely and professional. The first technician checked the wire harness to make sure no wires were pinched or broken; he determined that the display monitor must have been banged around in shipping, so he ordered a new one which was sent to our home. That took over two weeks. He came back to install it, but the problem was the same - no readouts and a blank screen after a few minutes. He adjusted the read switch to no avail, and determined that was the problem.

Another two weeks until the part arrived from Logan. A second service technician came out. He installed the new switch, but the problem remained. He checked every electrical wire and removed a second read switch on the bottom of the machine. He quickly noticed it was damaged, as if it had been crushed under a boot. He ordered a new one, another two plus weeks, and when he was available to come to the house to install it, we finally had a fully functional elliptical. I hope the guts of the NordicTrack Freestrider 35S were assembled and inspected better than the electronics. Excellent machine, excellent service, but poor quality control.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Nordictrack Elliptical - Returned to Costco After 1 Year

by Sharay
(Eugene Oregon)

Nordictrack ellipticals do not hold up to the test of time and the company does not stand behind their product. I used this for about a year and it never did work right. I had service people out twice and it was never fixed properly. Now after a year a piece of metal sheared off and the machine cannot be fixed or used. I used it on average 3 times per week for one year for a half an hour each time. I only weigh around 140 lbs so I see no reason for this to happen other than poor workmanship. I would not purchase a Nordictrack elliptical again. I bought this at Costco and they are standing behind their products and allowing me to return it. I say NEVER AGAIN to Nordictrack!!!!!!!! and YES to Costco!!!

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

This NordicTrack Elliptical Lasted 4 Years!

by Melissa
(Vancouver, WA 98686)

About 4 years ago I bought a NordicTrack elliptical trainer. I absolutely loved it until today. Just a few days short of the four year mark it started to squawk like a bird in pain. I had worn through the coating on the ramp. Called for a replacement part and found out it would cost me almost the amount of the machine when I originally got it. I thought I could live with the noise, I know I put up with other small minor noises and things with the machine.

Just a couple of days later the machine started to make loud cracking sounds. I had no idea what it was. My dad tried helping me, we thought it was this or that but couldn't put our finger on it. Then one day I looked down and realized there was something not right with one of the wheels. So I got out the tools and took it off. The center of the wheel made out of plastic had cracked and come apart. Called to replace the wheels thinking I could still live with the bird sounds. Found out the cost to me would be over $200 and said no thanks, hung up and vowed to really do my research this time even if it cost me way more than I intended.

Sometimes in life paying big up front pays off in the long run and truly saves me money.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Nordic Track Ellipticals Parts Order

by Donavan McCoy
(Stockton, CA)

The Nordic Track Elliptical is a well built machine, however when the time comes to replace parts that wear, beware of NordicTrack's ploy to get you to buy those parts at 10 times the retail cost.

NordicTrack uses everyday parts and charges huge prices for the ones that wear the quickest. The example I would like to use is the track wheels. These wheels are nothing more than a 100mm skate wheels with a standard 608 hub bearing with an 8mm shaft. These skate wheels are sold retail anywhere from $6 to $20 online (such as skates.com). NordicTrack will gladly sell them to you for $98 for the pair plus $25 shipping and $6 handling. If you kept track that is $129 for a pair of skate wheels. Get wheels with an alloy rim, and it will outlast the Nordic Track plastic rim wheel by decades.

Drive belts are also sold at $60 to $100 dollars through NordicTrack's website, but a quick trip to any auto parts store can reward you with a V-belt for around $10.

Good luck!

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Nordic Track Elliptical (NTEL77061) - Overpriced Replacement Parts

by Joe
(Cincinnati, OH)

My wife and I bought a NordicTrack elliptical last year. Both rollers started acting up a couple weeks ago. I went online found the parts I needed and it said – quantity (2) $52.62. I take this to mean you get 2 for $52.62. I do quite a bit of ordering for my company and when it says quantity 2 - $52.62 it means you get 2 for that price, not per piece. To think that two wheels could cost $105 or 20% or the total price for this machine is completely ridiculous. I will never consider buying any other NordicTrack products and every single site for consumer reporting I can find I will pass this information on so other people don’t make the same mistake and buy NordicTrack products and get stuck having to fix it after a year with completely overpriced replacement wheels/parts.

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack E5vi Elliptical Review

by Snak
(Ventura, CA)

It's always a problem with consumer sports equipment - never designed for continuous use. I bought the NordicTrack E5vi elliptical less than 2 years ago, and within the first year, an area near the bottom weld on the frame sheared off. The frame has a lifetime warranty - but only the frame. NordicTrack sent me out a new piece (very difficult to install), but at least I got it working. Today, the area near the foot track pivot on the bottom of the right pole was found to be shearing off. The part was expensive, so it was easier to get welded locally.

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Nordic Track AudioStrider 990: Terrible Welds and Catastrophic Structural Failure

by Jeff
(North Royalton, OH, USA)

Weld Failure of Left Pedal Arm

Weld Failure of Left Pedal Arm

My Nordic Track 990 Audiostrider elliptical had a catastrophic structural failure and collapsed under me due to a faulty weld. The left pedal arm steel box beam (which should never fail) developed a crack.

There are poor, sloppy welds all over the machine. In this case, a weld defect combined with a poor design led to a crack that propagated through the steel box beam of the pedal arm and caused a catastrophic failure.

As I indicate in the photo, a slot was cut into the pedal arm box beam to accommodate a flange. The slot was never welded shut, which resulted in an unintended inclusion (i.e., an unfilled hole) in the steel box beam that makes up the pedal arm. Welding defects like this result in high stress concentrations around the hole, which will result in cracks and failures over time.

The pedal arms are major structural parts that should NEVER fail. They are not simple maintenance items that wear out and need to be replaced occasionally! Failure of these parts can cause major injury if they collapse underneath someone. I was not injured, but I did fall down when the pedal arm collapsed under me.

I tried explaining this on the telephone to NordicTrack, but I got no satisfactory explanation. It baffles me how NordicTrack can view a major structural item like this as a simple maintenance item that should be replaced by the customer. Once again, parts like these are major structural items that are required for safe operation of their product. And they should never fail!

Click here to read or post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack A.C.T. Elliptical Trainer - Very Disappointing Experience!

by L. Walker
(Madison, WI)

I purchased the NordicTrack A.C.T. elliptical trainer on 10/28/11. I have had to call NordicTrack 4 times to get this fixed, because Sears doesn't fix the ellipitcal and it still is not working.

This has taken over two months, as it takes two weeks just to get parts to see if it will fix each problem. Sears won't refund my money because it is over the 90 day return policy -- only by 7 days. I has taken 90 days to figure out that it doesn't work. I have done everything correctly, called the manufacturer directly to get it fixed. So far I have had to replace the console, the motor, the lower and upper wiring harnesses. I can't think of what else could break. I have had to take off work for the technicain to come out. The last time he was here for over 3 hours.

I spoke to NordicTrack and they said they have no way to interface with Sears, their retailer, as Sears said that I should have NordicTrack call them and explain about the repair problems. Sears said they would return it for a refund when I called them on 2/3 and then spoke to them today and they won't take it back unless I pay a $150.00 restocking fee. I had to speak to 6 "customer service" people, none would allow me to speak to a manager. One rep, Cordaroe, actually said that Joyce, the manager, does not talk to customers!

It is completely unreasonable for me to pay to return this machine, since I have tried to get the NordicTrack A.C.T. elliptical fixed and can't afford to be off work any more hours. I am at a loss as to what to do at this point. I have an expensive exercise machine I can't use and I can't get my money back either. Very dissappointing and sad, all I wanted to do was get fit for the New Year.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack Customer Service

by Brad
(Tulsa, OK)

The machine works good but if you care at all about customer service, then don't buy from NordicTrack. To make a very long story short, they sent me a treadmill instead of the 990 PRO 2012 elliptical. They put me on hold for a total of over 4 hours on the phone and after going over and over with them as to what the problem was, it took over a month to get a refund. It almost ruined it for my girlfriend's Christmas. Was supposed to be a surprise and had I not found a machine in town, it would have all been ruined. So, I was out an additional $1070 for over a month because of the big screw up by Nordictrack. I'm telling you... never in my life have I experienced such painstakingly horrible customer service. Simply the worst.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack ASR 700 - Needs New Monitor

by Bill Anderson
(South Range, WI USA)

Nothing but a hunk of junk. Monitor doesn't work and a new one is over $300. Want to buy a used monitor from someone who has given up on their machine?

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

NordicTrack Elliptical

by Viola
(Thibodaux, La)

DO NOT BUY NORDICTRACK- I have had too many issues with my elliptical to count. For the price I would have expected it to last longer. Had a warranty for 3 years, now the console is beeping all the time and needs to be replaced - $450.00, which is absurd. I am the only person allowed on it, unplugged it when not in use, and especially, during the warranty period had to wait as long as 3 months for a technician. Now, I either have to replace the console, or buy another elliptical. I am thoroughly disgusted.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.

Nordictrack Elite 1300 Elliptical

by James
(Washington State)

NordicTrack Elite 1300 frame failure

NordicTrack Elite 1300 frame failure

NordicTrack Elite 1300 frame failure

I'd suggest you steer clear of NordicTrack in general, and the NordicTrack Elite 1300 elliptical specifically.

I had a catastrophic failure - the frame broke - which sent me flying. Only the threat of a claim against NordicTrack for injury convinced them to honor their lifetime frame warranty, and they replaced the machine. Now, 7 months later, a cheap plastic idler broke inside the machine. They won't fix it under warranty and insist on charging $120 for a plastic pulley.

The NordicTrack Elite 1300 wasn't a cheap machine, and is supposed to be high quality. But I simply don't understand how they can refuse to stand behind their products.

To make matters worse, it's almost impossible to get through to their customer service, and when you do, they simply read back 'policy' like a bunch of robots. Actually was kind of funny to hear them say they stand behind their products while denying to replace a broken part after 7 months.

So stay clear of NordicTrack.

Click here to post comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Elliptical Trainer Consumer Reviews - Rave or Rant!.


Comparison Charts

Under $500
$500 - $1000
$1000 - $2000
$2000 - $3000
$3000 - $4000+


Buying Guide

Elliptical FAQs
8 Features to Compare
Brake Systems
Stride Length
Front vs. Rear Drive
Warranties


Consumer Reviews

Here is your chance to rant or rave about the elliptical you use at home or at the fitness center.